Close

Member Login

Logging In
Invalid username or password.
Incorrect Login. Please try again.

Not a member? Sign-up now!

Signing up could earn you gear and it helps to keep offensive content off of our site.

Athlete Bio

Sigi Rumpfhuber

BIO

image-sigi

Name Sigi Rumpfhuber

Hometown: Kaprun, Austria

Mountain(s) you learned on: Katrin - Bad Ischl, Austria

Favorite mountain: Can I name two? Kaprun region for Austria, and then Chamonix.

Age when you put on your first pair of skis: 5

Something you never get on the mountain without: My selfmade wristlet made of climbing cord. I share it with 3 close friends and mountaineers.

Interview

Where would you like to ski that you haven’t been to before?
Skiing is my life, and I have a long list of places yet to go. The obvious - Alaska, Greenland, La Grave, and then the not so obvious: I want to climb Mt. Ararat in Turkey, I'd like to ski in Kyrgyzstan, and I am just checking out places like Kazachstan and Mongolia. And I have a cool project in mind for my hometown Kaprun. And also I try to ski a lot of couloirs in the Austrian Dachstein region. 

Who has been the biggest influence to you in your ski career?
I always looked up to Hermann Maier. And I think Jon Olsson is an incredible talent on all fields.

Where is your absolute favorite spot for après-ski?
As long as I have my crew and friends around me, pretty anything is cool. 

What do you look forward to most after a long day on the mountain?
I love the feeling of walking around barefoot at home after getting out of my ski boots.

What is something you wish you had more time for outside of skiing?
My dream is to ski more and then have a large barn with a wood workshop, a garage, storage, to work on all my projects.